Let me just grab my hat…


By Elle

At the last minute this past Saturday, my beloved decided that we should go to the Feast of the Assumption in Cleveland’s Little Italy neighborhood. I wasn’t terribly in the mood until I spotted my sun hat that I’d bought from H&M just two days before.  “I’ll go get dressed!” I said, charging up the stairs.

I had to dress in a hurry because it was already mid-afternoon and we wanted to beat the rush. Without too much thought, I grabbed my black lace skirt (to match the black ribbon on my hat) and, for a spot of color, my green, flowy blouse. Comfy and easy!

Abby & Elle Upstairs Fashion & Design Feast of the Assumption

It was another fashion blogger’s post about her floppy sun hat that inspired me to hunt one down. Plus, I’d been thinking about a summer hat. I have several lovely winter hats but had nothing special for summer and, frankly, with my pale skin — and desire to minimize sun damage to my 50-something face — a big floppy hat for summer made sense.

Abby & Elle Upstairs Fashion & Design Feast of the Assumption

My floppy hat totally kept the sun out of my eyes. Dark sunglasses don’t hurt, either.

Abby & Elle Upstairs Fashion & Design Feast of the Assumption

There was no way I was going to wear heels to the Feast. For one, some of the streets are paved with brick, with large gaps between each. For two, I suspected we’d do a lot of walking. So I opted for my black flip-flops, “blingy” version.

Abby & Elle Upstairs Fashion & Design Feast of the Assumption

I wore my green “pickle” bracelet, as my 4-year-old granddaughter, Rosie, calls it.

Abby & Elle Upstairs Fashion & Design Feast of the Assumption

You can’t beat the street food at the Feast.

Abby & Elle Upstairs Fashion & Design Feast of the Assumption

Abby & Elle Upstairs Fashion & Design Feast of the Assumption

Love this hat, from H&M. (I couldn’t find this exact one online, but I bought it at the Mentor, Ohio, store.) It’s floppy in all the right places and fits my tiny skull like it was made for it.

Abby & Elle Upstairs Fashion & Design Feast of the Assumption

Octopus salad. His, not mine. I ate zuke and portobello risotto.

Abby & Elle Upstairs Fashion & Design Feast of the Assumption

Abby & Elle Upstairs Fashion & Design Feast of the Assumption

Mmm, gelato. Unfortunately not vegan.

Abby & Elle Upstairs Fashion & Design Feast of the Assumption

Holy Rosary Church sits across the street from this apartment building.

Abby & Elle Upstairs Fashion & Design Feast of the Assumption
Abby & Elle Upstairs Fashion & Design Feast of the Assumption
Abby & Elle Upstairs Fashion & Design Feast of the Assumption

Abby & Elle Upstairs Fashion & Design Feast of the Assumption

Happiness is a belly full of good food and vino.

Abby & Elle Upstairs Fashion & Design Feast of the Assumption

Love.

Abby & Elle Upstairs Fashion & Design Feast of the Assumption

Goodbye Feast. Until next year.

Leave a Reply

