Fashion 9-1-1 — I’m a tummy flasher


duluth-trading-company-no-yank-tank-tug-of-war-large-2Dear Abby and Elle: I have a fashion crisis on my hands! Actually the crisis is around my mid-section. I can’t, for the life of me, get my shirts to stop riding up and showing my spare tire to the world. I wouldn’t say I’m fat, but I’ve got some pudge. Whether I’m walking, standing or sitting, my shirts decide to creep up and let it all hang out. What’s the deal, and what can I do?  -Riding High

Dear Riding High: We hate to admit it, but we sometimes have the same problem, particularly with camisoles. The obvious solution is to tuck in your shirt, but we’re assuming that you are talking about shirts that either don’t tuck or shouldn’t be tucked.

Thus, we have three possible solutions for you:

  1. We’ve discovered that shirts made with Spandex contribute to the riding high issue, so one solution is to look for shirts made from cotton.
  2. Try experimenting with one size up to see if that helps. Typically a jump in one size won’t make that much of a difference, particularly if we’re talking about camisoles.
  3. We’ve read positive reviews about the No-Yank Tank from Duluth Trading Co.  We haven’t personally reviewed them so we can’t vouch for them, but they may be worth a try. Bonus: They’re reasonably priced!

We hope that helps. Good luck and thanks for writing!

Leave a Reply

