A powerful punch of texture and color


Abby and Elle Upstairs Fashion rope scarfBy Elle

One of my colleagues gave me this extraordinary rope scarf for the holidays, and I was immediately smitten. For one, I love the earthy colors, and for two, I love how it gives any outfit a powerful punch of texture and color.

I especially love mixing chartreuse with grey, so I donned my black denim skirt (Goodwill, $1.50), Calvin Klein chartreuse blouse (Goodwill, about $2) and J. Crew grey wool cardigan (Goodwill, about $3) for a put-together look that cost less than $10. I added my furry ankle boots that I got on clearance from JC Penney (total cost, about $4) for an enjoyable mid-winter afternoon at the Cleveland Museum of Art.

I’m a maniac, I know. I need to step away from the Goodwill store.

Abby and Elle Upstairs Fashion rope scarf
Abby and Elle Upstairs Fashion rope scarf

Abby and Elle Upstairs Fashion rope scarf

Note the beautiful bow bracelet my daughter gave me for my birthday! I love bows.

After our “photo shoot,” Abby helped me find my favorite piece in the entire museum, a painting by William Bouguereau, below.  (How does one pronounce his last name anyway? This was a topic of conversation tonight at my house.) I love the realism of his work, and I could stare at this painting for hours. And hours.

Rest by William Bouguereau, 1879

Rest by William Bouguereau, 1879

If you liked this post, please share it with your friends on Facebook. Maybe they’ll like it, too!

One thought on “A powerful punch of texture and color

  1. Pingback: How to transition your wardrobe from winter to spring | Abby & Elle Upstairs Fashion & Design

Leave a Reply

